The Committee of Experts

Mandate 2020-2022 : The new committee of experts has been appointed.

Following a call for candidates launched on 17 December 2019, then a selection panel, the interministerial delegate signed the order appointing the members of the new committee of experts of the CNSR on 20 February 2020. The composition of the committee for the period 2020-2022 is available by clicking on this link.

The committee of experts is seized by the President of the National Road Safety Council (CNSR) and by the Interministerial Delegate for Road Safety (DISR).


The Committee of Experts has the following tasks:

  • to identify scientifically substantiated courses of action with regard to the issues at stake,
  • to establish a state of the art of knowledge,
  • issue opinions on a strategy, measures or recommendations envisaged,
  • to produce knowledge synthesis, if necessary by mobilising external resources in the form of specific expertise.

It may propose subjects for study or research that should be undertaken, for example on insufficiently documented issues or emerging problems.

Its President ensures the consistency of the work carried out by the various experts. Depending on the nature and purpose of the referrals, he entrusts the lead experts with the preparation of reports and opinions. He ensures the presentation of a critical and contradictory analysis of the various non-consolidated results.

The members of the Committee of Experts may be invited, depending on the topics on the agenda, to participate in the debates of the CNSR.

The experts may be heard or assist in the work of the commissions of the CNSR, at the request of the commission president formulated to the president of the CNSR or the DISR.

The committee of experts may be consulted by the president of CNSR or by DISR on the scientific quality of the publications made available to the public in the field of road safety.

The number of members of the committee has been voluntarily limited to 15 in order to encourage exchanges and promote teamwork. Appointed for three years, the experts are selected following a call for applications launched within the scientific and technical community. In order to respect the rules of parity, the gap between the number of women and men is no more than one. The decree of 28 November 2016 sets the conditions for appointing experts and the operating procedures of the body.

The reports of the committee of experts can be consulted by clicking on this link.